On Saturday the people of Carrick and the CDC area voted to elect a new Cosite Forbartha na Carriage/Carrick Development Committee this is the first time an election has happened in many, many years and came about following almost three months of firstly very well attended public meetings that were held due to the Sliabh Liag Distillery controversy and the demand for change and the election of an interim committee who worked to get the groundwork done for the incoming committee, positions and all other matters will be finalised at the AGM on January 7th.

We had a good turnout for the election considering the short time span, the bad weather and the fact a lot of people would have been busy in the run up to Christmas, thanks to all who took time to vote.

Following the election the following have been elected to Coiste Forbartha na Carraige and commiserations to those who did not get elected but thank you for putting your names forward it’s great to see so many people who are willing to help out:

James Byrne

Agnes Cunningham

Dessie Cunningham

Margaret Rose Cunningham

Fiona Doherty

Hugh Doherty Jnr

Seamus Gallagher

Donal McBrearty

Seamus McGinley

John McNulty

Thanks to the members of Kilcar Parish Council, Glen Parish Council and Meenenary Development Committee councils who helped with the count and manned the election during the election out and did a very professional job. 

Francis Cunningham, Seamus Kennedy, Linda Lyons, Megan Rice Cunningham and Grainne Reilly who did a great job counting and

cross checking the ballots on Saturday night.